5 Useful Preventions Against Computer Ransomware Attacks

2 January 2018

Many global corporations and Internet users were once victims of ransomware WannaCry, in just a few days WannaCry had rapidly spread in 150 countries. Over two hundred thousand users were infected with the ransomware, including the National Health Service in the United Kingdom. Such globalised scale Internet attack also happened in Hong Kong, according to the Hong Kong Computer Emergency Response Team, there were over 30 cases of infection, mostly personal computer or Small and Medium-sized Enterprises.

From computer virus, Year 2000 Problem, Trojan House to the recent hit of Ransomware, such computer attack is a form of malicious software (Malware), once infected there will be a system lock down, and it cannot be unlocked until the users pay its “ransom”. The amount of the ransom ranges from a few hundred Hong Kong Dollar to thousands Hong Kong Dollar, and the raise of Bitcoin further fostered the problem as it is now more difficult to track down the captive. For most internet attacks target Windows users, whether you are Windows 10 or XP users, you are easily exposed to threats and leave vulnerable when attacks like WannaCry occurs.

 

5 tips on protecting your computer properties

 

  1. Always back up the important documents

 

The trouble of ransomware is that it blocks your access to different files, however, if users backup their documents from time to time, it will lower the chance of losing important files. There are many ways of backup, organisations usually have a backup system in the servers, whereas individuals might backup through an external hard drive. Arguably, using an external hard drive might be more convenient, it does not stop any ransomware attacks.

 

A more secure method would be establishing a Cloud backup. Using the example of WannaCry ransomware attack, it targets the Windows system purposely. Fortunately, the cloud operation does not overlap with the Windows system operation, therefore it will not be affected by the ransomware attacks. Moreover, some automatic cloud backup system offers multiple backup up to 30 files. Even if your computer is infected with virus, you can still recover from an older version of the documents.

 

  1. Do not open suspicious email

 

A great amount of ransomware software are delivered in email form and spread from there, very often it contains message such as copy”,document”, “scan”, “file”, “PDF or exe”. If you are unsure with the sender address or apprehensive with the content, do not open or download from the suspicious email.

 

  1. Regularly update computer system and operating system

 

One of the reasons behind the outbreak of WannaCry ransomware is the lack of Windows updating, it allows hackers to attack through flaws in the systems. Especially for Windows’ users, a regular system update at its official website is recommended.

 

  1. Install antivirus software, scan for computer virus and clear junk mails

 

Everyone is aware of the importance of installing antivirus software on your device, nonetheless, many might not know the differences between them. There are many antivirus software on the market that cater to varieties of problems, such as filtering junk mails, anti-hacking, general antivirus etc. Each program has a solution towards a specific problem, it acts as a “Shield” for your device, and each “Shield” has a different purpose and size.

 

  1. Use a reliable Internet provider

 

It is essential for organisations to select a reliable Internet provider, for they can act as basic fundamental backup and provide help for your business when under attack.

 

As long as everyone backup regularly, install antivirus software and use a reliable Internet provider, SME shall not worry about hackers or other cyber-attacks!

Share:

language-switcher-popup
此頁面內容未能支援英文顯示

中勒索軟件WannaCry?唔駛喊 贈你5大解救錦囊

2018年01月02日

A:你有無中WannaCry呀?

B:好彩無呀,但有朋友公司部腦中左,開唔到file,好似話連公司IT都搞唔掂。

A:其實勒索軟件係咩黎?

B:唔知呢,好似話鎖曬你檔案,要比錢先開得返。

A:近排全球企業及個人電腦用戶都慘到想喊,因為好多人都中左勒索軟件(Ransomware)WannaCry。呢個勒索軟件擴散速度驚人,幾日內已在150個國家出現,受感染用戶逾20萬,就連英國政府醫療部門National Health Service(NHS)系統都中招。

唔好以為香港可以置身事外,根據香港電腦保安事故協調中心,總受感染個案已超過30多宗,當中大部分為個人用戶,亦有中小企用戶。今次事態非常嚴重,小編在此亦深感神的召喚,要贈與世人5大錦囊,等大家遇到同樣情況嘅時候唔駛喊!

 

WannaCry勒索軟件到底係乜?

從電腦病毒,到千年蟲,到木馬程式,近年最hit嘅就係勒索軟件。呢種程式其實係惡意軟件(Malware)的一種,用戶中左之後,電腦系統會上鎖,並聲稱用戶交出贖款先會解鎖,金額從幾十蚊美金到幾萬蚊美金不等,近年出現出現嘅Bitcoin(比特幣)更加助長勒索軟件,因為勒索一方非常難以追查。最近肆虐全球的WannaCry就專攻Windows系统用戶,無論是Window 10還是XP用戶都有機會中招。

 

 

 

醒你5大招預防中勒索軟件

一、時刻備份重要檔案

勒索軟件最麻煩之處就係封鎖曬你嘅檔案,其實只要你定期做好備份就唔駛怕。備份的方法亦有很多,企業通常會採用伺服器備份,雖然較使用普通電腦硬盤備份可靠,但遇上勒索軟件,同樣會渣都無。

小編建議大家使用自動雲端備份,就好似今次WannaCry事件,軟件主要攻擊Windows系統,而雲端備份操作並非使用Windows系統,並存放在雲端空間,所以能遠離病毒威脅。此外,自動雲端備份能提供多重備份達30個,即使不幸中招,仍可找回較舊的版本進行復原。

 

二、切勿開啟可疑郵件

大多數勒索軟件都是透過電郵散播,好多時勒索軟件會扮郵件中有「copy」、「document」、「scan」、「file」、「PDF」、「exe」等字眼,所以小編建議大家切勿,切勿,切勿開啟來歷不明及可疑的郵件(好重要所以要講3次)!

 

三、定期檢查及更新電腦程式及作業系統

今次爆出WannaCry勒索軟件事件,其中一點就是電腦未有及時更新,駭客就利用這個弱點及漏洞進攻。小編在此強烈建議,特別是使用Windows系統的用戶,必須到Microsoft官方網站執行Windows Update,並時常更新。

 

四、安裝防毒軟件並定期掃描電腦病毒或垃圾電郵

安裝防毒軟件實在係老生常談,但有幾多人知道,防毒軟件都有很多不同種類及功能。例如周全電腦防毒、對抗電郵病毒、過濾垃圾電郵以及防衛駭客攻擊等。其實防毒軟件就好似一個盾一樣,但每個盾嘅大小、防禦功能都唔同。

 

五、選用可靠網絡供應商

正所謂道高一尺,魔高一丈,中小企一般資源不足,遇上駭客攻擊及勒索軟件時,往往只能任人魚肉。小編建議中小企業最好選用一些穩健可靠的網絡服務供應商,不幸有事發生,都有足夠支援作後盾。

大家只要還原基本步,做好備份及防毒措施,加埋幫襯可靠的網絡供應商,中小企面對駭客就唔駛wanna cry啦!

分享:

language-switcher-popup
Current content does not support English